EMANet 

Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu
Zwei Personen während einer Operation

EMANet Charité Berlin - Emergency and Acute Medicine Network for Health Care Research

EMANet (Emergency and Acute Medicine Network for Health Care Research) Berlin is a network of

  •     the Department of Emergency Medicine
  •     the Institute for Medical Sociology and Rehabilitation Science,
  •     the Medical clinic with focus on psychosomatics
  •     other scientific institutes of the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin,
  •     the emergency departments of the Berlin-Mitte district and
  •     other important stakeholders in the care of emergency patients.

The aim of EMANet is to establish a sustainable interdisciplinary health services research structure in emergency and acute medicine with a focus on vulnerable, predominantly elderly patients suffering from multiple chronic diseases.

The partners combine expertise in health services research, medical sociology, health economics, epidemiology, scientific methodology and clinical know-how in the care of emergency and acute care patients, general medicine, psychosomatics, geriatrics and traumatology.

EMANet has been funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) since December 2016. It aims to improve care in the German healthcare system. To this end, the use of various areas of the healthcare system by patients is being investigated and their expectations of care determined. Emergency departments are located at the interface between outpatient and inpatient care. Their utilization structure is considered an indicator of the quality of a healthcare system. Proposals for improving care therefore include measures that avoid or at least reduce emergency department utilization and improve care within emergency departments.

In the first funding phase (2016-2019), a comprehensive data set was created for three exemplary emergency patient populations, consisting of quantitative and qualitative collected primary data, as well as secondary data from routine hospital and health insurance data. Based on the results of the first funding phase, a second funding phase (2020-2023) explores research questions in greater depth and develops and implements interventions.

The focus of EMANet is on older patients with several chronic diseases (so-called multimorbid patients). This patient group is growing steadily due to demographic change in Germany. So far, however, it has been insufficiently researched.

EMANet thus makes a contribution to knowledge on the following questions, among others:

  •     How are existing structures and facilities of the health care system used by multimorbid patients?
  •     Does the health care system meet the special nursing and psychosocial needs of multimorbid patients?

 

 

Cooperating emergency departments in Berlin-Mitte

Emergency departments are an important setting within the healthcare system. This is where all sectors of the healthcare system come together. Acutely ill patients receive initial care, initial treatment decisions are made and therapies are initiated.

All eight emergency rooms in the administrative district of Berlin-Mitte are involved in EMANet:

  •     Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin Notaufnahmen CCM / CVK
  •     Bundeswehrkrankenhaus Berlin
  •     DRK Kliniken Berlin-Mitte
  •     Evangelische Elisabeth Klinik
  •     Franziskus-Krankenhaus Berlin
  •     Jüdisches Krankenhaus Berlin
  •     St. Hedwig-Krankenhaus

The three EMANet projects EMAPREPARE, EMAAge II and EMASPOT II are implemented in the emergency rooms of the district Berlin-Mitte.

 

 

Details about EMANet

Zwei Personen während einer Operation

EMANet Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin – das Netzwerk für Versorgungsforschung in der Akut- und Notfallmedizin

EMANet (Emergency and Acute Medicine Network for Health Care Research) Berlin ist ein Netzwerk aus

  • dem Arbeitsbereich Notfallmedizin,
  • dem Institut für Medizinische Soziologie und Rehabilitationswissenschaft,
  • weiteren wissenschaftlichen Instituten der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin,
  • den Notaufnahmen des Bezirks Berlin-Mitte und
  • weiteren wichtigen Akteuren in der Versorgung von Notfallpatienten und -patientinnen.

Ziel von EMANet ist der Aufbau einer nachhaltigen interdisziplinär ausgerichteten Versorgungsforschungsstruktur der Notfall- und Akutmedizin mit dem Fokus auf vulnerablen, überwiegend älteren Patient*innen, die an mehreren chronischen Krankheiten leiden. 

Die Partner vereinigen Expertise in der Versorgungsforschung, der Medizinsoziologie, der Gesundheitsökonomie, der Epidemiologie, wissenschaftlicher Methodik und klinischem Know-how in der Versorgung von Notfall- und Akutmedizinpatient*innen, der Allgemeinmedizin, Psychosomatik, Geriatrie und Traumatologie.

EMANet wird durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung seit Dezember 2016 gefördert. Es zielt auf eine Verbesserung der Versorgung im deutschen Gesundheitswesen ab. Hierfür wird die Nutzung verschiedener Bereiche des Gesundheitssystems durch Patientinnen und Patienten untersucht und deren Erwartungen an die Versorgung ermittelt. Notaufnahmen sind organisatorisch an der Schnittstelle zwischen ambulanter und stationärer Versorgung angesiedelt. Ihre Nutzungsstruktur gilt als Gradmesser für die Qualität eines Gesundheitssystems. Verbesserungsvorschläge für die Versorgung beziehen daher Maßnahmen ein, die Notaufnahmenutzungen vermeiden oder zumindest reduzieren sowie die Versorgung innerhalb der Notaufnahmen verbessern.

In der ersten Förderphase (2016-2019) wurde für drei exemplarische Notfallpatient*innenpopulationen ein umfassender Datensatz erstellt, der aus quantitativen und qualitativen erhobenen Primärdaten, sowie Sekundärdaten aus den Routinedaten der Krankenhäuser und Krankenkassen besteht. Basierend auf den Ergebnissen der ersten Förderphase werden in einer zweiten Förderphase (2020-2023) wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen vertieft sowie Interventionen entwickelt und durchgeführt werden.

Der Fokus von EMANet liegt auf älteren Patientinnen und Patienten mit mehreren chronischen Erkrankungen (sogenannte multimorbide Patienten). Diese Patientengruppe wächst aufgrund des demografischen Wandels in Deutschland stetig an. Bisher wurde sie jedoch nur unzureichend erforscht.

EMANet leistet somit einen Erkenntnisbeitrag u.a. zu folgenden Fragenstellungen:

  • Wie werden bestehende Strukturen und Einrichtungen des Gesundheitssystems durch multimorbide Patientinnen und Patienten genutzt?
  • Wird das Gesundheitssystem den besonderen pflegerischen und psychosozialen Bedürfnissen multimorbider Patientinnen und Patienten gerecht?

Kooperierende Notaufnahmen in Berlin-Mitte

Notaufnahmen sind ein wichtiges Setting innerhalb des Gesundheitssystems. Hier treffen alle Sektoren des Gesundheitswesens zusammen. Es werden akut erkrankte Patientinnen und Patienten erstversorgt, erste Behandlungsentscheidungen getroffen und Therapien eingeleitet.

An EMANet sind alle acht Notaufnahmen im Regierungsbezirk Berlin-Mitte beteiligt:

Die drei EMANet-Projekte EMAPREPARE, EMAAge II und EMASPOT II werden in den Notaufnahmen des Bezirks Berlin-Mitte umgesetzt.